Final Internship Blog Post #11

Video Reflection #1

A couple of weeks ago I recorded a math lesson that I taught. Watching the video back after some time has passed allowed me to view the lesson more objectively and notice things about my teaching that I might not have otherwise. To begin with, I noticed how the way I announced that we were moving on to math excitedly translated into some student enthusiasm, with a few students saying, “Yay!” At one point in the lesson, I instructed the students to turn to a particular page number, but I could see how a few students might have missed which page number I said. It might have been helpful to have this also written on the board. The lesson was in geometry, and the shapes I had drawn on the board were a great visual reference, especially when a student forgot what vertices were. I was then able to model, using the shapes on the board, where you could find the vertices and how you could count them. This was helpful for completing the task they were then released to complete. In retrospect, it might have been helpful to do more of such modeling before each activity. In one instance, when I had released them to do something independently, I noticed a student finished early and began helping the student next to him. Perhaps this was a task that could have been done in partners with the students sitting next to each other, rather than independently. In terms of teacher behaviors, I realized that I was calling on a few students disproportionally more than others. In the future I should either use a random selection method, such as names from a jar, or another system to promote fairness and student engagement. I also felt that I could probably afford to speak a little slower and more clearly. By choosing my words more carefully and saying fewer words to convey the same idea, the students might retain more of what I am saying. Viewing this video recording was very helpful for reflecting on my teaching behaviors and ways to improve instruction. I look forward to reflecting in this way more in the future.

Leave a comment